Braided pie

Every post starts with the same process. The brainstorming part. On Pinterest. And then I just get too carried away with all the beautiful pictures. And of course I would like to make and recreate  the most beautiful things that I can find there. So this post was starting the same way. Found these georgeous braided pies. First I thought that it is too much for me, hence I have never made a single pie before!! But I just couldn’t stop thinking of them. I just HAD TO make them. I have nothing to lose I thought. Haven’t I just made the best decision ever?! I LOVED every step of making it. But the best part was designing the top of the pie. Once you made the dough right, it is just soo FUN. I know that this wasn’t the last pie that I made.

jkdesgn_braided_pie_01.jpg

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

For the apple filling

  • 6-7 apples (Combination of Gala/ Granny Smith/ Golden/ Golden delicious)
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp butter (cut into pieces)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt

grafika2-02.jpg

HOW TO MAKE

Pie crust

The recipe I used for the pie crust you can find it here. It worked perfectly. I doubled the measurements to have plenty of dough for decorating the top.

Apple filling

1. Peal the apples and cut into pieces ¦ 2. Add the sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Mix it together with the apples ¦ 3. Squeeze on the lemon juice ¦ 4. Pour it into the first layer of pie crust ¦ 5. Add on top a few small pieces of butter.

(On a sidenote: no, I did not forget to bake my pie, just got too excited after I took it out from the oven.. :))

jkdesgn_braided_pie_02jkdesgn_braided_pie_03jkdesgn_braided_pie_06.jpg

This pie is also perfect for Thanksgiving. Don’t forget to get creative on it!

xx,

signature_left-02

Leave a comment